Peak week and parties

Things have gotten a little crazy. Sorry for the lack of posts, but now peak week has come and gone, the trip to Iceland has concluded and the final countdown is beginning. Luckily for me and Lucas, the volcano did not affect our travel plans!

peak week, the highest milage week ofmarathon training was draining, to say the least. 5 miles Tuesday, 10 Wednesday, 5 Thursday and 20 Saturday. Yikes. I think the mental part was toughest, just knowing you have a 20 mile run hanging over your head is difficult. I dreaded it all week. And I was sore starting it because the other runs weren’t exactly short either. But we picked a scenic, relatively flat route and stuck together. I had to stop and walk for a few minutes on two occasions, my knees were bugging me and I didn’t want to risk injury. But I finished with about a 10:30 min/mile pace so I am happy with that. Mostly I’m happy I finished 20 miles. It wasn’t nearly as bad as I thought it would be. Just a very very very very long run. I don’t know how I will make it through 6 more miles. I definitely didn’t feel up for a 10k at the end haha. But it’s done, and I must say I’m enjoying taper.

After the 20 miler I headed to providence to meet a few friends for dinner… But it turns out they had planned a surprise party for me!! Complete with dinner and a Union Jack cake! Luckily I had napped post run so I survived the festivities. One of the hardest parts about moving is knowing how much I will miss everyone.  And how hard it will be to stay in touch. But, I’m coming back for 3 weddings next summer… So that will help. But it was a great time and I was so happy to see everyone!

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

