3 Days in Barcelona

This trip involved 32 miles walked, so many tapas I lost count and a bunch of Gaudi architecture.Barcelona 2015 005W

e flew in Friday morning to the BCN airport, and grabbed the Aerobus to city centre.  It runs pretty much constantly, and is pretty reasonable at 5.90 euro per person for a one way trip.  Since we couldn’t check into our hotel until later in the afternoon, our plan was to get dropped off near Las Ramblas and go in search of lunch.  We found paella (I know, not traditional in Barcelona, but still delicious), chorizo soaked in cider and some fried potatoes.   Onward to our hotel, the Generator Hostel, which is part hostel, and part hotel.  I was a little nervous about staying in a hostel since I hadn’t done that since university, but reviews indicated that the hotel rooms were separate and very nice.  They were correct, and I would definitely stay there again.  At 26, we were nowhere near the oldest people there, in fact it looked like entire families were staying there.  The room was great, on the top floor with a balcony that begged for a glass of wine (which we unfortunately couldn’t do, due to alcohol not being allowed in rooms.)

The neighborhood, Gracia, is filled with restaurants and bars.  Be prepared to eat late dinner, but not too late, since everything will probably be closed by midnight, except for drinks.

We wandered to Parc Guell, a famous architectural feature in the city by Antoni Gaudi.  Most of the park is free, but to see the famous gatehouse and tiled lizard you have to pay.  I couldn’t find the information indicating this on the website, but after 6:30 pm, they let us in for free, so that was a win!  The park boasts excellent views of the city from the top, so its definitely worth the walk.  This was followed by late night tapas at a few different restaurants and a bit of local wineBarcelona 2015 026.

The next morning, we headed back to Las Ramblas after grabbing some espresso and pastries for breakfast and then to La Boqueria, the famous market.  This market is massive and appears to have anything you could want (and lots of animal body parts you probably don’t want…).  It was chaos, but we managed to get some freshly squeezed fruit juice and chorizo.

Barcelona 2015 099

We then headed to the Sagrada Familia, which I’ve posted about here and definitely recommend.  We returned to Las Ramblas that night for a drink, an experience which is notoriously touristy, and I’m glad we only did it once, we seemed to find better food and drink in Gracia and other trendy neighborhoods than there.  Still, the crowds and the plazas lit up at night are something to see.839b1ca6-9e84-4302-8ccf-f3ac772823f5

Sunday involved a trip to Montserrat, but more on that later.  Barcelona was a city I definitely enjoyed, as it was easy to wander the wide streets and come across random delicious restaurants and beautiful buildings and neighborhoods.  Hopefully someday I will make it back!

16 Comments Add yours

  1. I love Barcelona, thank you for taking me back there for a few minutes! xx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Glad you enjoyed! 😀

      Like

  2. thegreyeye says:

    wow, I have just came from Barcelona too, I was there in Valentines day and the next day 🙂

    Like

  3. thegreyeye says:

    I loved the city too, and definitely wanna go back. And it may sound weird, but if you had choice between Paris and Barcelona , I would definitely recommend the later 😛

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I haven’t been to Paris yet, but I really did love Barcelona! Definitely hope to make it back someday since there is so much more to see!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Barcelona is one of my favourite places! Great city and looks to see!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I think it’s among my favorites too now! Such a beautiful and walkable city.

      Like

  5. I have been to a bunch of other cities in Spain, but not Barcelona yet! It looks beautiful and is on my list!

    Like

  6. Brittany says:

    Walking, tapas, and sightseeing!? YES.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Seriously. It doesn’t get any better!

      Like

  7. This is awesome, it looks like you had a great time over there ! The weather seems good. I’ve never been to barcelona, but it is also a city I would love to visit for a city trip 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You definitely should go, it’s probably more fun in summer with the beaches but I still enjoyed it!

      Like

      1. I think it’s the kind of cities you can go whenever you want, there is still something to do 😉

        Liked by 1 person

  8. Julie M says:

    We lived in Barcelona for almost 5 years and I miss it terribly! Your mention of Gracia (which is where we lived) made me homesick! Glad you enjoyed the trip!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I definitely did, and Gracia was a good neighborhood to stay in, seems like a great place to live too!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

