Thoughts on Paris

  
The next few posts will cover our trip with my future in laws to the city of light, where we visited a huge variety of museums, fascinating churches, monuments and one disgustingly ornate palace.  I wasn’t sure if I’d like Paris, I’d gotten mixed reviews from other travellers, who loved the beauty and shopping or strongly disliked the city and felt it was dirty and unfriendly.  And, I’ll admit I was a bit nervious about what the climate of the city would be after the attacks.  We were told cafes, restaurants were a bit quieter, but life had pretty much returned to normal. New Year’s Eve was much quieter than I thought it would be, and the fireworks were cancelled so we didn’t bother heading to the Arc de Triomphe to see the ten minute light show.   Ultimately, I loved Paris, the art and architecture and the history won me over, and most of the French people we met were friendly and helpful.

I was worried about ordering off French menus, but I needn’t have been.  (Thank you google translate!)  The only restaurant where we struggled with the menu, the waiter kindly drew us sketches of baked fish, profiteroles and various types of chicken.  It was hilarious and one of the highlights of our trip.

  
The architecture and lights at night were as beautiful as advertised.  Walking along the Seine at dusk was gorgeous. By the time we were stepping on the Eurostar to go home, I was wishing we could spend a few more days in this beautiful city. 

  
Have you been to Paris? Planning to go? Tell me about it in the comments!

18 Comments Add yours

  1. Morag says:

    I went to Paris many year ago. Saw all the normal touristy sights, including going up a very large tower in the business district which gives you a high up view of the city but with all the tall landmarks IN the view. I liked it, but didn’t fall in love with it. It’s a city at the end of the day, and I’m just not a city girl.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s a pretty city, I’m not sure I could live in a city but it was awesome to visit and very easy to navigate! What building was it? That was the disappointing thing about most of the tall monuments, we had to go up a few to see the rest!

      Like

  2. EmelyeKay says:

    Some of the most beautiful buildings I have ever seen were in Paris- definitely a winning city as far as architecture goes!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes! And they look amazing lit up at night as well.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Paris is my absolute most favorite city to visit and I’m sad that we don’t live just a few hours away anymore!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That is disappointing! We’re a bit of a hike still, but definitely doable as a weekend trip.

      Like

  4. I love Paris, a few years since we’ve been there and glad you ended up loving it too!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Good to know you loved it as well. Paris definitely has a lot to offer!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. thegreyeye says:

    It always grows on you 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Agreed! Now I want to go back!

      Like

  6. I’m glad you enjoyed Paris ! French cuisine is really delicious

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It is, we tried to be a bit adventurous but sometimes the menus are intimidating!

      Liked by 1 person

  7. sdf says:

    Good article! We will be linking to this great article on our website.
    Keep up the good writing.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. estelea says:

    OUF, I am glad you liked my home town finally 🙂 I had to smile imagining the waiter drawing you profiteroles, I love that. That we don’t need Apps for the essential !

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I loved it! And that was definitely one of the highlights of our trip!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

