2016 so far…

Life has gotten a bit crazy in 2016, which means I’ve been slacking a bit on the blog. After our New Years jaunt to Paris, we had a few weeks off before starting a marathon of busy weekends including trips to Austria and Liverpool, which I’ll post about soon. Combine that with a half marathon I probably haven’t trained sufficiently for, followed by a possible last minute trip to see friends heading to Frankfort for work, a long weekend in Prague and all of a sudden my google cal is looking pretty full. We’ve also got friends and my parents visiting us in the UK soon! 

In addition to being so busy, there’s the stress of not knowing if we are staying in the UK or repatriating at the end of the summer. Things are looking positive for our work and visa extensions, but we don’t want to get too optimistic only to be disappointed later. Consequently, we can’t plan anything beyond July, and it’s hard to prioritise our travels since we don’t know how much time we have.  This also makes wedding planning difficult, since we can’t easily see venues or talk to vendors thousands of miles and a few time zones away. Luckily, my parents have been really helpful, and we are making progress! We also had gorgeous engagement photos taken in the northern Lake District, which will be an excellent souvenir of our time here. 

Probably our most ambitious endeavour is that Lucas and I are training for a 40 mile run/walk across the Lake District known as the Keswick to Barrow, since it starts in Keswick in the north and (you guessed it) ends in Barrow on the peninsula. We’re raising money and supporting a local charity, and hopefully getting ourselves into shape for this extremely long walk!

In other running news, I’ve gotten accepted to the Great North Run, the largest half marathon in the world with 57000 runners! It’s held in Newcastle in November and places are given out (to us mortals, professionals can qualify by being fast) by lottery. I’m so excited since it’s meant to be fantastic and a few friends have gotten in as well!

 So a bit of a rambling update, but that pretty much covers our 2016 so far! Hope your 2016 is going well!

2 Comments Add yours

  1. It sounds like 2016 is going great. Good luck on training for your marathon. I can’t even imagine doing that. I’m slowly working at my couch to 5K.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It is thanks! I’m not sure how I got roped into this crazy race, 40 miles might be a bit much for me! Hope your 2016 is off to a great start as well!

      Like

Leave a Reply

