The Ultimate in Opulance

  Gold leaf walls. A private opera. The famed hall of mirrors. Dozens and dozens of servants. I’d read about the Palace of Versailles, home to the Sun King as well as Marie Antionette, but seeing it in person was incredible. The palace is massive and really merits an entire day of sight seeing, along with the grounds, which have additional palaces, lakes and trails to explore. 

   
 The crowds and bus tours show up early to queue, to so it’s important to get there early, otherwise you could spend a long time in line. One way to avoid the line is to book a guided tour, you enter through a separate entrance and can remain in the palace after your tour. The tour was very informative and allowed access to parts of the palace that were otherwise off limits, so I think it was €7 well spent!  Audioguides and maps are also available and helpful in navigating the palace. 

   
    
  Not to be missed: definitely the opera that had a mechanical floor that could turn it into a ballroom, and the extremely elegant chapel. The Hall of Mirrors is also as amazing as advertised. 

Things I wish we hadn’t done: the train that takes you around the estate has a dodgy schedule and we spent the amount of time it would’ve taken to walk waiting in line. Instead, bikes and golf carts are available for hire, or you can walk. The estate is definitely worth exploring!

Getting there: The palace is located in Versailles, outside of Paris, but you don’t need a coach trip, it’s easy to do yourself. Mike’s Travel Guide has a great step by step set of directions on how to catch the RER train and save some money. 

8 Comments Add yours

  1. I went there for a school trip and I still have a fond memory of this place. This is very impressive. I really loved exploring the gardens.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’d love to see the gardens in summer, there is a lot to explore!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. angharadeyre says:

    I’ve never made it out to Versailles, as I’ve never wanted to join a coach tour. Now that I know it’s possible to get there under your own steam I might consider it next time I visit (if I can bare to tear myself away from the cafes and galleries of the center!)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s really easy to do, I was impressed. It’s a nice change from the city as well.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I’ve been to Paris several times but never to Versailles – it looks just gorgeous.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s definitely worth a visit, I’ve never been anyplace like it!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Lovely! I have a trip to Paris coming up soon. I would love to visit here but not sure if we will have time!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I hope you get a chance to visit, enjoy your trip to Paris, there is so much to see!!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

