South England Road Trip

A few weeks ago (I know, so many posts to catch up on) a friend (and bridesmaid!) and her sister came to visit me in the UK.  They got crazy cheap flights on WOW air, which meant they would be flying into Gatwick and only had 4 full days in the England, and so much to see! My work schedule has been a bit crazy, but when at the last minute I had to work the weekend previously and was able to negotiate a few extra days off to spend with them I was thrilled. This also meant I had to make last minute plans…

I took a late night train from Oxenholme to Canterbury (it is a VERY long ride, made longer by delays) and got into Canterbury just after midnight.  This was my first time traveling on Virgin trains first class, and I don’t think I’d do it again.  You do get free drinks (alcoholic and non) and you’re supposed to get gourmet meals…except due to the delays the train ran out, leaving me with two glasses of wine and a half a sandwich for dinner.  Oops.

  
We stayed at the Falstaff Hotel in Canterbury, which was cute, central and reasonably priced. I wasn’t there for long since we had an early morning start on our road trip to Seven Sisters. Seven Sisters is better to visit than the cliffs of Dover because you can see them well from land- to get the best view of the cliffs of Dover you must be out on the water. In fact, a lot of movies that are thought to be shot in Dover are actually filmed here! If you time it right with the tides, you can walk along the base of the cliffs.  We parked in the lot by the visitors centre and walked out to the cliffs, which had a pretty good view, but the iconic view you always see is actually from Seaford Head Local Nature reserve, where we stopped next. 

  
Our next port of call was Stonehenge. We’d booked entry tickets ahead of time online (free to English heritage and national trust members) for the latest possible time. You can see the henge from the motorway when you are driving to the visitor centre, and must actually take a (free with admission) bus from the visitor centre to the stones. I was afraid I’d be underwhelmed after hearing so many people say that it was smaller than they thought it would be. It is, in fact, pretty large and when you think about how far the stones were hauled, very impressive. The audioguide was interesting and it happened to be national bagpipe day so we were serenaded by a troupe of bag pipers as we meandered around the stones. You can get pretty close, but visitors aren’t allowed in the circle as it could disturb the soil and cause stones to fall with all the traffic they get yearly. After perusing the gift shop for everything Stonehenge related, we were off to Bath!

12 Comments Add yours

  1. Tanja says:

    cool video!:)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks! It was a great coincidence that they were there playing!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Sounds like a wonderful time with friends. Good tip on Dover…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, it was a great trip! Always nice when people from home come to visit 🙂

      Like

  3. angharadeyre says:

    I didn’t know about seven sisters – great tip! I’ve never actually walked around Stone Henge, but last time we drove to the SW to see my parents we drove past it in moonlight, which was pretty cool. Looking forward to hearing about your time in Bath!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I can’t take credit for knowing much about seven sisters either, my friend who visited found it in forums online! Ooh Stonehenge at night sounds interesting!

      Like

  4. Wow I hope I can travel through more of the United Kingdom. It´s such a rich culture.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It is! And much more geographically diverse than I’d imagined for such a small piece of land.

      Like

  5. ldr13 says:

    Lovely views! I’d love to see a seaside like that; I’ve heard of the cliffs of Dover but I’ve never heard of the Seven Sisters before.

    There are too many beautiful sights to see in the UK but I’m not complaining!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The U.K. has so many beautiful places, before moving here I had no idea the landscape was so diverse. I hope you make it there someday!

      Liked by 1 person

  6. fromdreamtoplan says:

    I’ll be living in London from September and Since the only part of England which I didn’t see is the south I already had in mind to visit it…so this post is really useful!! Thank you for sharing! 🙂

    https://fromdreamtoplan.wordpress.com/

    Like

Leave a Reply

