My ‘While in Europe List’-Revisited

Just over a year ago, at the beginning of last summer, I wrote a post about our ‘To Do While in Europe’ list, a priority list of what Lucas and I wanted to see while we were living overseas. Now that we’ve got just over a guaranteed year left (and a year since we compiled our list), I’m revisiting it to see how well we’ve done, and what vacations are still left to plan!

Croatia – Plitvice National Park, Dubrovnik and the Dalmation Coast.-still in the works! We tried to plan a trip, but realized that the flights/ferries were too complicated for a long weekend and we’re now trying to dedicate an entire week to Croatia in Spring 2017!

skiing the alps (not particular about where!) Success! We visited Innsbruck in February for a 4 day weekend of eating delicious Austrian food and skiing the old Olympic slopes. The views weren’t bad either!

img_3060

Giant’s Causeway in Northern Ireland road trip! Belfast was probably our most spontaneous trip to date. We managed to meet up with friends, explore the city and take in the Giants Causeway and the terrifying rope bridge!

IMG_2617-0

-Greece- Athens and some beautiful islands -Still on the list!

-Rome- because how could you not?

-Cinque Terre- cliffside towns, hiking and wine? Yes please.

Russia- St Petersburg and Moscow. Hopefully will be partially accomplished with a Baltic cruise next summer! We took the Baltic Cruise! It was an amazing 12 days of beautiful cities and not so beautiful weather… St. Petersburg was great to visit, but we didn’t make it to Moscow, maybe with the world cup in 2018??

-Norway-the fjords! (Visiting in July!)-We had an amazing time in Norway (aside from learning in the Fjords that we are terrible kayakers). We managed to visit Oslo, Bergen and Flam, and to take in some of the most epic views of our lives!

Norway 2015 190

-Iceland- a road trip around the ring road!-Realistically a post-Europe trip, since it’s so easily accessible from the US!

Germany- Berlin and Munich (headed to Munich this summer!) Check and check! We spent a long summer weekend in Munich last summer, and drank even more beer when friends joined us for the late May bank holiday weekend in Berlin!

Prague: there’s a  Beer spa, ok? Haha.=We spent 5 days in Plzen and Prague over the Easter weekend, consuming lots of beer and delicious food. And yes, we managed to make it to the beer spa, one of the highlights of the trip!

Scottish highlands/Isle of Skye My parents joined us for a road trip around Scotland, where we visited the Isle of Skye, Inverness, Oban, Glasgow and Edinburgh-it was a busy week!

img_3632

7 out of 12 isn’t too bad! Some trips, like Italy and Iceland seem to merit a few weeks, and may be best taken later, when we can really take the time to explore the country, rather than rushing in and out the way you can with a city break.

What’s new on the list?

-Krakow-the history, architecture and food!

-Ben Nevis-It’s the only one of the three peaks we still haven’t summited (we hit the highest in Wales and England, only Scotland remains!)

-Switzerland

-Oktoberfest!

-Madrid-Because who can say no to art, churros and tapas?

-Nice and Monaco

-The Cotswolds

What’s on your travel bucket list? How do you choose where to go next?

 

 

23 Comments Add yours

  1. Sebastian says:

    Great list, I feel inspired to “borrow” some of these ideas. 😉
    Giants causeway and the Fjords are so amazing, glad you went!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Any in particular you’re looking to try?

      Both of those had amazing natural beauty, I’m so glad we made it!

      Like

      1. Sebastian says:

        Ive still got to get to Iceland and Russia, to name two. 😉

        Like

  2. We’re heading to Croatia this fall – can’t wait! Others we’re targeting : Portugal, Faroe Islands, Cologne, Finland, Greece – we’ll see how many we hit! Cheers from Copenhagen- if Denmark makes it to your bucket list – let me know!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I can’t wait to read about your Croatia trip! We visited Copenhagen in June en route to our Baltic cruise, we had a lot of fun in 24 hours despite loads of rain, but hopefully we’ll make it back for a longer trip!

      Like

  3. treksandtors says:

    Like the list, Rome is a must, unbelievable place. I’d add in Florence to the Italy list. Not sure about Madrid, prefer Barcelona/Seville and Valencia to Madrid, especially Barca which just has it, in spades! I’ve been to Monaco and it was a bit weird, I went to walk the grand prix track the rest just stank of money and wasn’t for me. I stayed half a day!! Eastern Europe should be more on my list really Budapest, Riga, Krakow but I keep heading back to the same places (Paris, Rome, Barca and The Lakes!!!!)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I will get to Rome! (And the rest of Italy, but I think that will be a multi week adventure). I loved Barcelona as well, some I’m excited to visit somewhere else in Spain to see how it compares, maybe Seville is a better option? The lakes aren’t really on the list since we pretty much live there, but I’d like to give helvellyn a go! Hope you make it to Eastern Europe, I’m hoping to travel more there as well!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. treksandtors says:

        Sevilla is excellent, it has a more more African feel to it, especially the heat!! Plus the Andalucia Spain area is fantastic especially Cordoba, Granada or Ronda. As for Helvellyn as long as you have a head for height then you must do Striding Edge. Its the only way up Helvellyn. Don’t go from the Thirlmere side, its a long plod. The eastern side of the mountain is far better, come down via Swirral Edge on a good weather day and all will be fine.

        Like

  4. afarawayhome says:

    What a great list – so much awesome stuff done already, and so much great stuff left to do! Looking forward to hearing all about it, I hope you manage to find the time.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s ambitious, but I’m hoping we can at least make a dent in it. Thanks for reading!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. findingnyc says:

    You made great headway with your list in only a year – I’m amazed at how much you’ve already done! Such a variety of experiences as well. The additions sound really interesting as well. I’ve recently become very intrigued by visiting Poland, including Krakow, as I’ve had several friends visit there and love it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s been a bit of a whirlwind the last few years. We’ve really tried to see as much as we could. I hope you make it to Poland, I’m really excited to go! One of my friends is originally from Poland and has given plenty of tips!

      Liked by 1 person

  6. I recommend Plitvice and Croatia in general ! It’s really a nice country. It’s a wise decision to spend more than a weekend over there.

    In the UK, I still want to visit Orkney islands, Shetland islands, Cornwall, Devon and Oxford 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’d like to go to the Orkney islands too, they’re just tough to get to! Cornwall and Devon look beautiful as well, the beaches seem amazing!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yeah, it requires at least a full week to visit Orkney islands and you can’t never be too sure about the weather

        Like

  7. Brittany says:

    Your last picture..I’m DYING. HOLY GORGEOUS.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, it’s in the Glencoe valley in Scotland, and there is so much beautiful hiking!

      Like

  8. angharadeyre says:

    Great list! I’m very much enjoying being back in Europe – it’s such a short hop to France and wonderful wine country! I love Spain as well – still need to visit Barcelona, but really enjoyed Madrid and Sevilla (but Sevilla is the one we return to again and again…) I very much want to revisit Croatia and Slovenia, and take my husband there for his first time – you will love it I’m sure!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I really want to go to Sevilla, unfortunately flights there are pretty limited from Manchester which makes it tough. I can’t wait for Croatia, I’m trying to talk my fiancé into visiting Slovenia as well!

      Liked by 1 person

  9. Definitely keeping this handy on my next europe trip!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Glad you enjoyed it! Where are you planning to visit in Europe?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I’ve recently been to Greece and Germany, and now for Christmas I’m planning to go to Iceland and Paris! I heard Paris is reallllly beautiful in the winter

        Liked by 1 person

      2. We went to Paris last winter and it was beautiful and I’m guessing much less crowded. I’m sure you’ll love Iceland as well-one of the most amazing places I’ve visited!

        Like

Leave a Reply

