Eating and Drinking in Kraków 

Rightly or wrongly, the part of our trip to Kraków I was most excited about was the food. I love pierogis and kielbasa and was excited to spend a weekend enjoying them in between sightseeing. After our wild vodka adventure in St Petersburg, I was more skeptical of the vodka tasting we had planned, but the website promised it was a tasting not a pub crawl and we wouldn’t get drunk. Six shots of vodka later….


We really did enjoy the vodka and food tasting tour with Delicious Poland. It was run by a couple, the woman was Polish and her partner was Turkish. They were a lot of fun, as was the other couple on the tour, and they led us through old town where we sampled six types of vodka and lots of polish food. I didn’t even mind the pickled herring! Most of the food was delicious, lard on toast, cabbage stew in a bread bowl and lots of sausages. I also learned that a pickle after a shot of vodka really cuts down on the burn! I wasn’t joking about the shots though, vodka in Poland is not for sipping, and in fact, their the toast we learned translates to ‘To your health and to the bottom’. So bottoms up!


We tried lemon, herbal and Bison grass vodkas as well as a few pure ones. Our collection grew a bit in the Kraków airport duty free shop.
After the vodka adventure, we tried some craft beer bars in the old town with our new friends from the tour. MultiQulti and House of Beer had excellent craft beer selections, we could have stayed and drank all night. Unfortunately we had a 7:45 am pickup for our Aushwitz and Salt Mine tour the next day so we called it a night.
The best meal of our trip was at Saseidsi. A bit of a splurge, but worth it. The soup, pierogis and lamb were amazing. Lucas really enjoyed his first attempt at eating rabbit. An amazing wine selection and delicious food.


Our final meal in Poland was at U Babci Maliny. It’s tricky to find, through library doors to a courtyard and down to a cellar, but suddenly you’re in a well decorated bustling restaurant that smells amazing. It’s cheap, and the portions are large. We ordered 2 plates of pierogis (cheese and meat) and potato pancakes. We couldn’t finish them. Definitely worth the detour down old town side streets.

Untold Morsels
24 Comments Add yours

  1. Mel & Suan says:

    Now this is an interesting twist. Most posts focused on the sights of Krakow.
    Did not know of the culinary side. Pierogis looks like dumplings. Cool! Gotta try them!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’ll also be posting about the sights of Kraków, but the food was so good it was hard to ignore! Pierogis are dumplings and come with many different fillings. So good!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Mel & Suan says:

        Yum! We were in Russia earlier in May this year and also had dumplings!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. angharadeyre says:

    Yum! I’ve never been to Poland but I’m looking forward to my birthday and a meal at one of our favourite restaurants in London – Baltic – that does excellent pierogi, pickled herring and vodka. You’ve really whetted my appetite!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ooh I may have to check that place out next time I’m in London! I’m sure the food is amazing.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Oh man, you just made me hungry! Haven’t been to Krakow yet, but hope to go soon! I’ll remember these! #FarawayFiles

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I hope you make it there for a visit! I’m missing the food already!

      Like

  4. Ruth says:

    Our last meal in Krakow was at U Babci Maliny too! What a coincidence! I loved the food there. It was so hearty and flavorful. I will not have problems staying a long time in Poland and eating everything the country has to offer. I need to go back soon! #FarawayFiles

    Like

    1. Glad you enjoyed it as well! I’d like to go back too, as we were heading back to the airport we were discussing at least another weekends worth of sightseeing!

      Like

  5. Vodka AND beer – wow! This looks amazing. I love pickled herring, so I’d be in my element here. #FarawayFiles

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You certainly won’t go thirsty haha. I’m going to say the pickled herring was good because I was actually able to eat a decent amount of it without thinking it was too gross!

      Like

  6. fifi + hop says:

    This looks like so much fun – interesting fact about the pickle after the shot – like lime after tequila?! #farawayfiles

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I think it’s the same concept, either way it works!

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Katy says:

    Mmmm yummy pierogis – I like the cheesy ones. Food tours are such a brilliant way to explore a city. Bookmarking your post for when we visit Krakow! Thanks for sharing with us on #FarawayFiles

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Glad you enjoyed it! I agree about food tours, they gives you a chance to try a wide variety of local cuisine and get your bearings in a new city.

      Like

  8. Clare Thomson says:

    I do think a foodie tour is such a wonderful thing to do in a new city, and you managed to try both the food and the drink. Like the idea of cabbage soup in a bread bowl. Thanks for sharing with us on #FarawayFiles

    Like

  9. 6 shots of vodka! Luckily there was all that delicious looking pierogies to soak it up! Look super fun – thanks for sharing with #FarawayFiles Erin

    Like

  10. I’m not sure I’d have been able to eat anything after six shots of vodka. I’m a lightweight when it comes to alcohol these days! #farawayfiles

    Like

  11. You´ve made me hungry! My former roommate is from Poland and I loved eating the meals she made.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The food is so hearty and good, I’m on the look out for a Polish restaurant near us!

      Like

  12. Syna Flores says:

    Thanks for share with us.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for reading!

      Like

Leave a Reply

