Back & Relaxed

So it’s been a bit of a break, the longest I think since I’ve started the blog. Whoops.  I had good intentions for posting over the holidays, but the wedding and honeymoon took over, and I made a plan to be unplugged for the entire wedding day and honeymoon. Worth it and amazing.  The downside was that no writing or posting got done. Lots of reading, tropical drinking and relaxing though!

The days leading up to the wedding were a different story. Christmas and being reunited with family and friends was awesome. Being away is the most painful part of living so far apart, and after spending Christmas on our own last year, this was a welcome change. The first wedding crisis involved my dress. The lovely UK dress shop I bought it from some how managed to safely cram it into a waterproof carry on bag that would meet the most stringent of requirements so I wouldn’t have to let it out of my sight on the way over. I’ve lost gate checked bags before, and was not willing to mess around with it. I brought it to the cleaner to have it steamed upon arrival in the US. They gave it back to me in a white bag…and when I reached my parents house to unpack it, I realised it was the wrong dress!!! And they were closing in a few hours for the holiday and weekend of the wedding. Fortunately, after a swift and pointed phone call (thanks Dad!) the very apologetic manager of the dry cleaner brought the correct dress over. Crisis averted!


The second (almost) crisis was that I contracted a severe GI illness two nights before the wedding. I’ll spare you the details, but I was up all night. I spent the morning of the rehearsal in the hospital getting rehydrated and medicated in hopes that it would restore me enough to make it to the wedding. ( The doctor had the nerve to say that not eating for 2 days would ensure I fit in my dress…I was not amused) Though I could only drink Gatorade at the rehearsal dinner and had to leave after an hour, I managed to get to bed really early and felt human again the morning of the wedding. Maybe it was the adrenaline that got me through, but I even made it to the afterparty! It was an amazing day, filled with family, friends and lots of love!

The honeymoon was much needed and excellent! We spent a week in an eco resort in St. Lucia and really got away from it all. I’ll post about our adventures there later, when I’ve caught up on life and the rest of the blog things.

I hope all of you enjoyed the holidays (though they seem ages ago now!) and had safe and enjoyable travels.

9 Comments Add yours

  1. Frede says:

    Congratulations on your wedding! 🙂 xx

    Liked by 1 person

  2. treksandtors says:

    The holidays do feel such a long time ago now. Congratulations on the wedding. Hope the other girl got her wedding dress in time as well!!

    Like

  3. afarawayhome says:

    I pretty sure you shouldn’t feel guilty about not blogging through Christmas, illness and wedding! Congratulations anyhow, I’m sure the honeymoon was very welcome 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks! There’s lots to catch up on now and the honeymoon was an awesome break!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. fromdreamtoplan says:

    Oh congratulations!! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Oh gosh the dress story is horrifying! I’m glad it ended up well. Being sick or having a burst of acne the day before the wedding is my nightmare.. sometimes I’m thinking that there is always photoshop if I ever get a nasty pimple

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes… it was but in the end it worked out to be a lovely day! I was worried for a while though!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

