The Repatriation Question and other March Updates

I can’t believe it’s already March. The past two months have flown by, and it’s hard to believe we’re coming up on having to make a decision about staying or going once again. The frustrating bit is that it’s not entirely up to us and spring 2016 was a long and stressful wait to find out about contract extensions. This year is a bit different. After living here for 2.5 years, we were more undecided about whether to commit to year four. Four years is a long time to be gone and I forget sometimes about how much everything and everyone at home has changed, and yearly visits allow barely enough time to see everyone. 


On the other hand, the travel perks are amazing, and we’ve already started talking about the possibilities we’d have if we stayed. And the thought of moving back to a country where Trump is president isn’t exactly appealing. 

And around we go. 

We also found out that when we do move back, it may not be to Connecticut, but to Philadelphia. I’m not sure what to think about this, it’s not a place I ever considered living. But then, neither was Cumbria. My time spent in Philly has mostly been in the airport, which is generally not a positive experience. My only time spent in the city itself was a weekend road trip freshman year of college to party with friends of friends at Temple. So I don’t have much to go on. 


On a less confusing note, marathon training is going well. I’m up to 16 miles and can’t believe the race is coming so quickly! It will be much less painful than the Keswick to Barrow was last year (I hope) but just as scenic. 

We’ve penciled a few more adventures in the diary… a hiking trip to Switzerland this summer (any advice on hiking the Bernese Oberland would be appreciated) and a few beer festivals. 


The weather and daylight is finally good enough for hiking again, so we’ve been back on the fells, even taking some fellow expats on a group hike to our favourite peak. And of course pub lunching afterward. 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Ralph says:

    We were expats in the UK too and boy do me Human miss the place but all good things do have to come to an end (or do they, thinking about it why?). Now in Australia I pine for the cooler weather and dog friendly pubs…

    R

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m sure I’ll miss it in England when I’m gone, but there are plenty of times I miss the vastness of America, the convenience of shopping there and the wider roads.

      Like

Leave a Reply

